Cartoon #3: there is no AWAY ….

There is no throwing "AWAY" as ther eis no away. we can see that clearly if we imaging standing on the moon and glimpsing down on earth

Visit Alex’s website: https://sustainabilityillustrated.com/en/2018/04/02/waste-cartoon/

Human kind has made it to the moon. If you are up there and look down to earth you start to understand that the “away” in throwing it away” is not real. Everyhing stays within the biosphere and is accumulated somehwere.

Austria has created an incredible(?) system in which garbage, after we bring it to the dumping site is out of sight means out of mind. Europeans, when they come to Nepal then do react overly disgusted if they see Nepalese throwing the waste in the river or burning them on the way. But what actually happend to the waste in Austria? we have done research.

In 2015 Austria produces around 916 000 metric tons of plastic waste. That equals around 100 kg per person per year (in comparison Nepal produces around 3 kg per person per year).The total amount of plastic waste in Austria could fill around 2400 truck loads. If one would line up all these trucks in a long queue, this queue would reach almost 5 times from Bregenz to Vienna. This is the amount of plastic alone, we Austrians throw “away” annually. But only around 28 % is being recycled eventually. While in 1994 80 % of plastic waste was dumped to landfills, nowadays the lions share is thermally treated (burned in special treatment plants). Then much of the energy is away (some of it at least for heating our homes). And the slag which is remaining. well we export much of it … the it is also away … at least from Austria. Well Nepalese burn it ontheway. away.

So maybe we should stopp telling the Nepalese how to handle waste and start to fix our own wast management first?

 

This post is part of the Sustainability Illustrated series which Monon has started in 2019 in which the sustainability cartoons of the canadian Alex Magnin should be made available to an German speaking audience. For english speakers, he has much more interesting material on his website … you should really check it out.

Cartoon #3: Es gibt kein WEG …

Wenn man am Mond steht und auf die Erde schaut versteht man erst: es gibt das "weg" in wegwerfen eigentlich gar nicht.

cc-by Alexandre Magnin (https://sustainabilityillustrated.com/en/)

Die Menschheit hat es bis zum Mond geschafft. Wenn man dort oben steht und runter schaut versteht man. Es gibt das „weg“ in wegwerfen eigentlich gar nicht. Alles bleibt in der Biosphäre des Planeten und sammelt sich nur irgendwo an.

In Österreich haben wir ein tolles(?) System etabliert in dem der Müll nach Ablieferung an der Sammelstelle aus den Augen aus dem Sinn ist. Eurpäer sind immer ganz empört, wenn sie sehen, wie die Nepalesen den Plastikmüll einfach neben der Strasse verbrennen. Aber was passiert eigentlich wirklich mit unserem ganzen Müll? Wir haben recherchiert:

2015 wurden in Österreich rund 916 000 Tonnen Plastikmüll produziert. Das sind ca. 100 kg pro Person pro Jahr (im Vergleich Nepal produziert ca. 3 kg pro Person pro Jahr). Nur der PLastikmüll in Österreich sind als 2400 LKW-Ladungen. Würde man alle diese LKW in einer langen Schlagen aufstellen, könnte man fast 5 mal eine Schlange von Bregenz nach Wien bilden. Das werfen wir Österreicher jährlich „weg“. Doch nur rund 28 % des ganzen wird tatsächlich recycelt (im Fachterminus stofflich verwertet). Im Vergleich zum Jahr 1994 wo ca. 80 % auf Deponie  gelagert wurde, wird heute der Großteil thermisch behandlet – als zu gut Deutsch einfach verbrannt. Dann ist mal viel Energie weg. Und die Schlacke, die übrig bleibt, die exportieren wir ins Ausland … dann ist es weg aus Österreich … und die Nepalesen, die verbrennen es halt auf dem Weg. weg!

Dieser Post gehört zur Sustainability Illustrated Serie, die Monon für 2019 startet und im Rahmen derer ich die Nachhaltigkeits Cartoons des Kanadiers Alex Magnin übersetze und so einem deutschen Publikum zugänglich mache.
Wenn du des Englischen mächtig bist, gibt es auch noch ganz tolle Erkläreideos auf seiner Webseite