YouLead Project in Macedonia

We are excited, that Monon e.U. has gotten the possibility to participate in the ERASMUS + funded project YouLEAD In Macedonia. The project is coordinated by Marketing Gate and is working on the topic of the sustainable development goals and social media marketing with a paricular focus on using social media through smart phones. trainings Read More …

environmental sustainability in sport and culture and events: another tragedy of the common

Nested sustainability With this year’s group of students, I have been exploring in depth again, what it means to be sustainable in Sport, Culture or Event Management. My course was based on the idea of nested sustainability. This idea, which is also illustrated in the graphic on the left, is having the assumption, that there Read More …

Cartoon #2: We are in a giant car heading towards a brick wall …

… and everyone is arguing on where to sit.” the canadian academic and science broadcaster David Suzuki nailed it. All to often we have to pay attention to not drift off to conversations about minor issues and loos focus on the bigger picture. Let this picture be a reminder for that every time we open the Read More …

Cartoon #1: to believe or to not believe …. it does not matter

Even though German speaking countries are having somewhat less climate change deniers than english speaking ones, we still do have some: 7.3 % of all Austrians, 4.5 % of all Germans and 3.7 % of all swiss do not believe in climate change accordint to an article of the Austrian newspaper Standard . Yet 70 % Read More …

Two Schools of thought of Social Business

As with so many concept in the world, also Social Business is a term which can have multiple meanings dependent on the context of the person, who uses it. I’ve realized that first time during a conversation with an American impact investor from the Wallstreet. He explained me with firm conviction that what we do Read More …

Research Handbook on Small Business Social Responsibility has been published

It is my pleasure to announce that on January 26th 2018 the research handbook on Small Business Social Responsibility has been published to which I had the pleasure of contributing an article. I got in touch with the publishers of the handbook in spring 2015 and had the pleasure of presenting my insights in Nepal’s Read More …

5 types of social businesses

Social Business Types While working with start-ups I’ve experienced two types of approaches to design a social business: Either the business plan is following a good old schoolbook approach and often risks running short in terms of the impact it is making: it’s well developed in terms of the production process, product design and the Read More …

Sustainability in Sport-, Culture and Event Management

“What exactly is sustainability?”, “How sustainable are big sport events?” and “What can managers in sports, culture and event management contribute to sustainability?” where some of the questions the master’s students in sports, culture and event management at the university of applied science in Kufstein dealt with during my lecture on sustainability. Throughout the lecture Read More …

Paper Commentator Micro Finance Summit Nepal 2017

From 15. – 17.3.2017 organized the Centre for Microfinance Nepal (CMF) the 4th Micro Finance Summit in Nepal. More that 800 representatives from Micro Finance Institutions and cooperatives gathered in Hotel Yak & Yeti to discuss the current status and future of Micro Finance in Nepal. I had the pleasure of being invited as a Read More …

Youth guide to starting a social business

In Fall 2015 I participated in the name of VHS Bhaktapur in an Erasmus+ exchange for youth workers organized by Net in Action in Italy. The five days training was all under the main question: how can social entrepreneurship help youth not in employment, education or training (NEET) finding their place in society. I spontaneously Read More …

YouLead Projekt in Mazedonien

Wir freuen uns sehr dass wir, Monon.eu die Möglichkeit erhalten haben an dem ERASMUS plus Projekt YouLEAD in Mazedonien teilzunehmen. Das Projekt wird von Marketing Gate organisiert, und hat den Fokus auf der Schnittstelle von nachhaltigen Entwicklungszielen und Digitalem Marketing, insbesondere durch Nutzung von Social Media und Smartphones. Trainingscamp in Mazedonien Be the change you weiterlesen…

9 Ideen zur ökologischen Ausrichtung der Bramberger Gemeindepolitik

Die Gemeinderatswahlen stehen vor der Tür und zumindest einige politische Parteien sind wahrhaft bemüht sich ein Programm für die nächste Legislaturperiode zu überlegen. Die Bürgerliste hat ein ganz tolle Programm zusammengestellt und bemüht sich wahrlich viel Schwung in das Dorfleben zu bringen. Andere Parteien (SPÖ und ÖVP) haben ihr Wahlprogramm nicht so klar kommuniziert, aber weiterlesen…

Cartoon #2: Wir alle sitzen in einem riesen Auto, dass auf einen Wand zurast …

…und alle streiten sich um die Sitzplätze.“ Der kanadische Wissenschaftler und Moderator verschiedensten Wissenschaftssendungen David Suzuki im kanadischen Fernsehen hat es auf den Punkt gebracht: wir alle sitzen in einem riesigen Bus, der auf einen Wand zurast und streiten uns darum, wer wo sitzen darf. Nur all zu oft muss man sich in Acht nehmen, weiterlesen…

Cartoon #1: Glauben oder nicht glauben … es macht keinen Unterschied

Auch wenn es in den deutschsprachigen Ländern nicht ganz so viele Klimaskeptiker gibt wie in den USA, gibt es sie dennoch: 7,3 % aller Österreicher, 4,5 % aller Deutschen und 3,7 % der Schweizer glaube laut einem Artikel im Standard nicht oder eher nicht daran, das der Klimawandel tatsächlich existiert. Doch ca. 70 % aller weiterlesen…

Nachhaltige Landwirtschaft – ein gesellschaftspolitischer Ansatz

Vorgeschichte Als meine Großmutter im Jahre 1948 verstarb, war mein Vater gerade mal 9 Jahre alt. Erheblich jünger als seine beiden älteren Geschwister, die damals 19 und 24 waren. Meine Großmutter hat verfügt, dass die Gemeinde am 18. Geburtstag meines Vaters prüfen soll, „wer der bessere Bauer wäre“. Der solle dann das Bauerngut übernehmen. Wie weiterlesen…

Radha Paudel kommt nach Europa

  Es ist mir eine große Freude den Besuch meiner Freundin Radha Paudel in Europa anzukündigen. Radha hat ihr Leben ihrer Arbeit als Autorin und Aktivistin gewidmet und kämpft gegen gesellschaftliche Stigmatisierung und für eine gerechte Inklusion aller am gesellschaftlichen Leben. Ihr Buch, in dem sie ihre Erlebnisse der Attacke auf Khalanga und deren politische weiterlesen…

Die zwei Denkschulen in Social Business

Social Business ist – wie viele andere Konzepte – ein Begriff, der sich mit dem Kontext in dem er verwendet wird und dem Weltverständnis der Person die ihn gebraucht, graduell verändert. Mir ist das das erste Mal aufgefallen, als ich mich in meiner Zeit bei Nepal Social Business mit einem amerikanischen Investmentbanker von der Wallstreet weiterlesen…

Forschungshandbuch „Soziale Verantwortung von Kleinstunternehmern“ erschienen

Es ist mir eine große Freude darüber zu berichten, dass am 26. Jänner 2018 das Forschungshandbuch soziale Verantwortung von Kleinstunternehmern erschienen ist, in welchem ich die Gelegenheit hatte, einen Artikel zu publizieren. Ich habe die Herausgeber im Frühjahr 2015 kennen gelernt und hatte die Gelegenheit meine Erfahrungen in Nepal bei einem Vortrag in London näher weiterlesen…

Die fünf Social Business Typen

Social Business Typen Während meiner Arbeit mit Start-Ups konnte ich zwei Herangehensweisen an die Entwicklung eines Geschäftsplan für ein Social Business gesehen. Die eine Gruppe macht einen Geschäftsplan nach dem traditionellen Ansatz, also mit einem Fokus auf die wirtschaftlichen Abläufe. Diese Gruppe läuft dabei dann oft Gefahr den eigentlichen gemeinwohlorientierten Zweck der Organisation aus den weiterlesen…

Nachhaltigkeit in Sport-, Kultur- und Veranstaltungsmanagement

„Was ist denn eigentlich Nachhaltigkeit?“, „Wie nachhaltig sind eigentlich Sportgroßveranstaltungen?“ und „Was können kulturelle Produktionen zur Nachhaltigkeit beitragen?“ waren nur drei der Fragen, die sich die Studenden des Masterstudienganges Sports, Culture and Event Management während der Vorlesung zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit gestellt haben. Im Verlaufe der Lehrveranstaltungen, haben wir die tripply bottom line kritisch diskutiert, uns weiterlesen…