Alpbach: Inspiration and Network

In the last two weeks of August I had the great pleasure of experiencing the European Forum Alpbach in its full length, made possible by a scholarship of the Club Alpbach Salzburg. During these weeks many very interesting and high-quality talks were held, on issues like the international energy crisis by Nobel Laureate Robert Laughlin, about lobbying in Brussels and about current developments in spatial planning towards being more green.

Gruppenfoto mit Emanuel Barroso, Franz Fischler und Werner Feymann

by Peter Mayer

“Political borders are in the best case absurd, normally homicidal and dangerous”, said Robert Menasse in the closing discussion. Not only artists but also the president of the EU Commision Emanuel Barroso stressed that to focus on more integration is not just an ideology but a systemic requirement.

Apart from being an inspiration to consider new perspectives on one or more issues, especially the working group on social business was very fruitful and brought me to rework the website of Monon e.U. slightly. The new sites What is a Monon? and social business ought to explain the vision closer to the visitor and describe in more detail how the principles of social businesses influence the actions of the Monon e.U.

In addition, Alpbach was the perfect place to improve the network of Monon e.U. First contacts were established with organisations like UNIDO or Ashoka – an organization which supports changes makers – networks like the hub or other social Entrepreneurs like Andreas Heinecke founder of Dialogue in the Dark were established and these will all be followed up in the coming weeks.

Alpbach: Inspiration und Netzwerk

Ende August hatte ich die großartige Gelegenheit das europäische Forum Alpbach in voller Länge zu genießen, ermöglicht durch ein Stipendium des Club Alpbach Salzburg. In den zweieinhalb Wochen gab es viele spannende und qualitativ hochwertige Vorträge von Themen wie der internationalen Energiekrise von Nobelpreisträger Robert Laughlin, über Lobbying in Brüssel bis zu Entwicklungen wie zurück zu mehr grün in der Raumplanung.

Gruppenfoto mit Emanuel Barroso, Franz Fischler und Werner Feymann

by Peter Mayer

„Politische Grenzen sind im besten Fall absurd, normalerweise aber mörderisch und gefährlich“ So Robert Menasse in der abschließenden Diskussion. Doch nicht nur Künstler sondern auch der Präsident der EU-Kommission Emanuel Barroso betont dass verstärkte Integration nicht bloß eine Ideologie sondern eine systemische Anforderung ist.

Doch neben einer Inspiration zu einer neuen Perspektive auf den einen oder anderen Punkt waren vor allem die Arbeitsgruppen zu Social Business auch Anlass den Webauftritt der Monon e.U. einmal komplett zu überarbeiten und zu aktualisieren. Die beiden neuen Seiten Was ist ein Monon? und Social Business sollen dem Besucher die Vision und näher erklären, wie die Prinzipien eines Social Business die Handlungen und Tätigkeiten der Monon e.U beeinflussen.

Außerdem war Alpbach ein perfekter Ort um das Netzwerk der Monon e.U. zu erweitern. Erste Kontakte zur internationalen Organisationen wie der UNIDO oder Ashoka – eine Organisation die Social Entrepreneurs unterstützt – anderen Social Entrepreneurs wie Andreas Heinecke von Dialog im Dunkeln oder aber Netzwerken wie the hub wurden gemacht und werden in den nächsten Wochen vertieft werden.